SHRMC 2019 Event Summary ?>

SHRMC 2019 Event Summary

On Wednesday 14th August, 155 guests, judges, and presenters filed into The University Club for the 13th edition of the annual Students in Health and Medical Research Conference (SHMRC). SHMRC has developed into a world-class research conference where students present pioneering health research that is both inspiring and innovative – and this year was no exception. The 2019 SHMRC was the biggest conference since its launch in 2007. Places for participants were competitive, and 33 outstanding individuals were selected to…

Read More Read More

SHMRC2016: Winners ?>

SHMRC2016: Winners

Thank you fellow research enthusiasts for your great support! We would like to congratulate all presenters for their hard work and to announce the prize winners for the 10th SHMRC: Oral Presentation 1st place: Mr Saiuj Bhat 2nd place: Ms Elly Haris 3rd place: Mr Werner Jaeger Poster Presentation 1st place: Jade Newton 2nd place: Melanie Still

SHMRC2016: Poster Presenters ?>

SHMRC2016: Poster Presenters

Poster Presenters The SHMRC Committee is proud to announce that the 2016 SHMRC poster presentations will be: Mr Andrew Szabo Abstract title Pre-graduating medical students’ interest in rural internship Ms Claudia Leslie Abstract title Evaluating the Clinical Care Pathway for Dengue in WA hospitals Mr Gary Zhang  Abstract title The effects of sun exposure on body fat and abdominal obesity in breast and prostate cancer patients Mr Guy Armstrong Abstract title Do physical features of the yard space influence the…

Read More Read More

SHMRC2016: Oral Presenters ?>

SHMRC2016: Oral Presenters

Oral Presentations The SHMRC Committee is proud to announce that the 2016 SHMRC oral presentations will be: Mr Cameron Scott Lewis Abstract Title: Comparison of safety between 1-stage and 2-stage surgery: from laparoscopic adjustable gastric banding to laparoscopic sleeve gastrectomy Cameron is a final year medical student who is passionate about research. He has been involved in various projects and has recently been to the world health organization completing a three-month internship. Additionally, he was awarded the OSSANZ Jamieson scholarship…

Read More Read More

SHMRC2016: Judge Announcement 6# ?>

SHMRC2016: Judge Announcement 6#

We are proud to announce our final judge for the event: Professor George Yeoh! Professor George Yeoh received his PhD in Biochmistry from UWA in 1972. Shortly after, he was awarded the CJ Martin Overseas Research Fellow (NHMRC) and studied at the Univeristy of Pennsylvania USA and the Beatson Institute for Cancer Research, Glasgow, Scotland. He filled many roles as Visiting Scientist at a number of prestigious universities in the USA and in Europe. Following his return to Australia, he…

Read More Read More

SHMRC2016: Judge Announcement #5 ?>

SHMRC2016: Judge Announcement #5

Hey Researchers and Research Enthusiasts, As we countdown towards the SHRMC, it’s time to introduce our next judge: Professor Christobel Saunders. Prof. Christobel Saunders is a Consultant Surgeon at Royal Perth, St John of God Subiaco and Fiona Stanley Hospitals in Perth, Western Australia. She is Professor of Surgical Oncology and Head of Unit General Surgery at The University of Western Australia; and Consultant Surgeon for the Western Australian Melanoma Advisory Service. She is closely involved in strategic planning and…

Read More Read More

SHMRC2016: Judge Announcement #4 ?>

SHMRC2016: Judge Announcement #4

Dear Medical Researchers/Researchers to-be, It’s less than two months away from SHMRC 2016 and we are here once again to announce our 4th judge for the event. He may be new to the SHMRC, but definitely a veteran in the field of medical research. We are very honoured to welcome our new judge: Professor Barry Iacopetta. Prof. Iacopetta completed his PhD in cell biology at UWA. This was followed by three postdoctoral positions in Switzerland (University of Geneva; Swiss Cancer…

Read More Read More

SHMRC2016: Judge Announcement #3 ?>

SHMRC2016: Judge Announcement #3

Dear Researchers and Research Enthusiasts, Hope that the new semester has been awesome for you all! We are proud to announce our third judge for the SHMRC. She is a Winthrop Professor of Respiratory Medicine and a familiar face during the UWA OSCE exams. She is the other returning judge for this year’s SHMRC: Professor Fiona Lake! Professor Fiona Lake holds the Eric Saint Chair of Medicine at the University of Western Australia and is a Respiratory Physician at Sir…

Read More Read More

SHMRC2016: Judge Announcement #2 ?>

SHMRC2016: Judge Announcement #2

To all Researchers and Research Enthusiasts, We are proud to announce our second judge for the SHMRC. You guys may have seen him often as an OSCE examiner, around in lectures, SCGH, coffee anatomy and last year’s SHMRC. He is none other than our returning judge: Professor Neil Boudville! Neil Boudville is a Professor of Renal Medicine and Sub-Dean for the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at the University of Western Australia. He is also the Head of…

Read More Read More